Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardengirl_17

online peony resources

gardengirl_17
14 years ago

I have never ordered peonies from any source other than Khlem's but I was wondering what other resources are out there that you've had good experiences with. I like all types of peonies. Mainly I have herbaceous but my collection of tree peonies is expanding and I bought my first intersectional peony this year. Thanks!

Comments (20)

• bernergarden
    14 years ago

I just purchased some Peonies from Gilbert H. Wild & son. Their prices are decent, but it is my first time purchasing from them. So, I am not sure how they will be when they arrive.
    Website is www.gilberthwild.com
    Since you are in Ohio like me, maybe we can eventually trade some starts. I am just getting into Peonies, but have about 20 different varieties and will gladly share in a few years.
    Daniel

• gardengirl_17
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks Daniel, I will check out this source. I would be interested in trading starts in a few years. Most of my peonies are not that large either, plus you'll have to tell me how to do the starts. :) Do you dig up the entire peony and cut off a piece of the root with a few eyes? I have about the same number of herbaceous peonies, all different varieties that I have primarily gotten from Khlem's. If you haven't ordered from them before I do think they're a great resource.

• Dar Sunset Zone 18
    14 years ago

Hi,
    This thread is really useful. I want to ask if ordering from Gilbert H. Wild & Son, would you know will they ship it out within this month or next month at least? (Or else, I would rather wait till fall to order)

They have a really nice selection of plants, and its perfect since I can buy daylilies, oriental lilies and peonies at one site! THanks Daniel..

• gardengirl_17
    Original Author
    14 years ago