Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maryl_gw

Peonies are bad plants.

Although I have quite a diverse garden, I've never tried a Peony before and know little about them. I like the foliage, and found a Peony suited for our climate (Kansas). I thought a Peony might fill the bill as a low maintanence plant (compared to the roses I grow at least). After I planted my Peony I visited a friend and commented on her peonies (which I had never noticed before). She told me they were not hers, but her D.H.'s and that they were bad plants. My heart sank. These are the reasons she gave. Can you tell me if they are true?

1. The foliage on Peonies looks horrible by August;all brown and icky. You must leave it (like daffodils) until October. SIDEBAR: If so, will a peony live in a container? I could at least move that out of sight.

2. They need to be staked. All Peony flowers flop to the ground. Kansas will too.

3. They are as disease prone as roses. They must be sprayed (Fungunex?)

4. They attract ants to your house.

I guess my question would also be, if all this is true, why do people love their peonies so much? Your help will really be appreciated.

Comments (32)

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    18 years ago

1. Mow them down in July. Trust me, works fine.

2. Get a tree peony. A good upright japanese tree peony never needs staking.

3. Sprayed? Never. But then I never spray roses either :)

4. See 2. Tree peonies don't attract ants.

You missed number 5. Peony flowers last for two weeks if you're lucky. And the answer to "why" is: ten inch flowers that smell heavenly!

{{gwi:1137182}}

• jonson01
    18 years ago

Hi Maryl, I have never had to spray my peonies for either fungis or ants. Mine do get ants before bloom but after they bloom no more ants. And its not hard to buy a peony stake and install in the Spring. Really, they are BEAUTIFUL and worth the minimal effort for flowers.

• diannp
    18 years ago