Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
olga_6b

Please help me choose

olga_6b
18 years ago

This is my first post on this forum. My regular place is antique rose forum.

I love peonies and grow many different herb. varieties. But I have no experience with tree peony. This fall I want to plant 2-3 different tree peonies. I am looking for something that will be hardy in Maryland (zone 6B), relatively easy to grow and give me a lot of blooms when mature. I am patient person and don't look for immediate gratification, but bigger plants which will bloom soomer is a plus. What is the best place to oder? Also would you recomend more Chinese or Japanese varieties. What is the main difference between them in terms of garden performance. Which are the best in your opinion, in different colors groups. Sorry, too many questions.

I want for example, one red, one pink and

one something else. Fragrance is a big plus but not absolutely necessary.

Thank you very much.

Olga

Comments (9)

• diannp
    18 years ago

Olga, with tree peony you should buy the oldest that you can afford. A three to four year old tree peony should bloom for you.

Regarding the difference between a Chinese tree peony and a Japanese tree peony. What I've been told is that the Japanese tree peony (hybridized from the Chinese tree peony) will get a bit taller and the flowers will stand out from the foliage more. Where as a Chinese tree peony will be more of a rounded shrub shape and the flowers will nestle down into the foliage more, even to the point of being obscured by the foliage. I think most of the tree peonies commonly seen in peoples gardens are peony suffruticosa, but there are many other species of tree peony, too, they are just a bit harder to come by.

To sum it up, just get one, you'll not be sorry. ;) Maybe someone else has some better information for you.

Diann
    IA Z5a

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    18 years ago