Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
miss_fernandez

How do peonies shoots look like?

Miss.Fernandez
9 years ago

Last year, I bought a bag of about 3 Sara Bernhardt peonies at HD. I believe I planted it around Sept or Oct. I dont think I planted it right (I didnt know where the eyes were... I do now! LOL). What happens if I plant them upside-down? Will they find their way up and out of the ground or just rot?

I noticed several shoots coming out of the ground about a week ago in the same area where I planted the peonies. I'm new to gardening and can't it. Anyone has a picture? I'll try to photograph it tonight when I get home. Thanks a bunch!!!

Comments (10)

• milly35
    9 years ago

Hello Miss. Fernandez
    I've uploaded a pic of what my peonies sprouts looked like, I too planted mine last year & lost hope when nothing came up, but was pleasantly surprised to see them come up this year. No blooms this year I think hopefully next year. I'll also upload a couple more to show you how they're progressing, hope this helps! :)

• Miss.Fernandez
    Original Author
    9 years ago

As promised, photos. This is what the little unidentifiable shoot looks like. Is it Peony?

Thanks Milly35 for your pictures. Make sure you post your flowers when they pop up! What kind of Peony is that?

What should I do now? Stake them? I see online that they bloom mid-spring. It's about Mid Spring in NJ and they're just growing. Will they grow flowers this year? I'm lost. LOL Thanks for all the help!!!

• gardenper
    9 years ago

That looks like a dahlia but I'm sure someone else can chime in also.

Your peonies probably won't bloom this year.

• milly35
    9 years ago