Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenhaven_gw

Buds alrerady on bushes while foliage is still'fresh'

greenhaven
15 years ago

Hi, all! Some names here are familiar to me at the Rose forum.

This is our second summer in our home, a sevety year old darling. There are big old peonies planted in several sopts in the backyard, and a couple very small plants in the side yard that I mowed over last year before I knew what they were. Oops!

My question(s) is this:

The foliage is getting quite tall here in zone 4b/5a, and is still pretty tender-looking (wrinkly, rubbery, reddish) and the leaves have not fully unfolded. BUT, there are bloom buds already present and swelling on the bushes! Is this normal? I never really paid attention before, and I have little experience with them. I don't know what kind they are besides to say most are the single, fuschia ones with yellow centers. There are also some double white ones, maybe a double pink. They are all behaving the same way.

I will be splitting and relocating a LOT of them in the Fall. Will they blom again the following year? And do I just slice through those thick roots to dig them up and divide them?

From May 24th 2007:

{{gwi:295623}}

Comments (10)

• jayco
    15 years ago

Yeah, it's normal for them to already have buds.

As for digging and dividing, dig up the whole root (preferably on a cool, shady fall day) and then cut it, making sure each piece has three - five eyes on it. Then replant at the same depth. The new divisions probably won't bloom the first year.

• greenhaven
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks, jayco! Any idea which peony these pink beauties are? I tried digging around the 'net and couldn;t get very far. I never realized there were so many peonies! :/

• jayco
    15 years ago

No, I don't know -- but they are really beautiful! I want some like those!