Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
agentsherry

How do I start growing the fern peony?

agentsherry
17 years ago

I just purchased my first fern peony but I want to grow my own. How do I do that? I can get the roots from a company. Would I plant in fall? How do I plant? When can I split, etc. I'm really new at gardening. HELP!

Comments (11)

• peonyman
    17 years ago

Agentsherry

Actually the fernleaf peony is easy. But beware. People call a lot of different peonies fernleaf. My first fernleaf that I recieved was Smouthii which is a fernleaf hybrid. Fernleaf hybrids look quiet different from the true fernleaf peonies.

For a beginner I would suggest you get Paeonia tenuifolia rubra plena flore. This is the double flowering fernleaf peony, it is one of the easiest, the foliage is the most fernlike, almost feathery, and it makes a great show of color in the very early spring. The color of this peony is Lipstick Red. It is also the most available of the true fernleaf peonies.

The fernleaf peony only has a few requirements and if those are met it will be happy. If it is happy it will multiply fast and make a nice plant. This plant seems to appreciate dividing every few years.

The requirements include:
    1) Good soil, I use a good bit of compost in my soil and I have not had trouble with botrytis (a leafage desease caused by fungii).

2) Constant soil moisture that first summer. Dont let the soil get to dry. You don't want to overwater either.

3) Relatively dry soil during the winter. I use raised beds. The bed is about 8 inches higher than the surrounding ground. This allows for fast drainage after a rain. Wet feet in the winter is a surefire way to kill a fernleaf peony.