Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowerpower326

Stupid newbie question

flowerpower326
18 years ago

My friend gave me a bunch of beautiful cut peonies from her garden yesterday. I am very new to this so please bear with my stupid questions. When the flower dies off can I save the seeds and sow them. Will anything happen or will i be wasting time. I appreciate any feedback. maria

Comments (5)

• jayco
    18 years ago

Nope, unfortunately you can't. With peonies a seed pod has to form after the bloom fades, and then I believe it's very difficult to propagate the seeds. However, you can purchase roots pretty inexpensively for planting in the fall. And it's worth it--peonies are very easy to grow!

• gardenlove
    18 years ago

Hi Maria...no questions are stupid!...I thought it was an excellent question and learned more myself by your asking it....Maybe your friend can give you a piece of the root from her Peony if its large enough?...I have been wondering if a peony must be completely dug up and the entire root "divided", or if a piece of the root can simply be cut off from the mother plant, and the rest left in place undisturbed?...I am still learning how the main root/rhizome of peonies grow and spread and how deep they go, etc...I am assuming they tend to crawl along just under the surface of the soil(is this correct?..or do they dive deep?)....Take care all!...GardenLove

• maifleur01
    18 years ago

You could ask your friend if you could harvest some seeds after the pods open. This would mean that all the spent flowers could not be removed right away.

Look for carpels, the center part, that are swelling. This is the seed pod. The seed won't be ripe until July or August. Watch for the pods to split open. Then sow the seeds right away. Several other posters have given good instructions so I won't bore you with details. It does take several years from seed to flower but it teaches us patience.

• jazzmom516 (Zone 6b, MA)
    18 years ago