Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alohalani_gw

Will these grow in San Diego

alohalani
11 years ago

Im new to Peonies----just discovered them and would like to try and grow them. Any advice on where to buy and growing tips

would be great.

Comments (8)

• stevelau1911
    11 years ago

What climate are you in?

They need a certain number of chilling hours in order to grow properly and flower each year. If you are new, you might as well start out with the good stuff and go with Itoh or intersectional peonies due to their hardiness, disease resistance, vigor, upright stems which do not require staking, and foliage/blooms that look like that of tree peonies. Herbaceous peonies tend to flop over from their own weight, attract lots of ants, and the foliage is prone to powdery mold after flowering while tree peonies can be a bit tricky to get established.

On average, they are the most expensive, but I was able to get a good pretty good deal from an eBay seller when I purchased 5 large tubers which I was able to split into smaller sections like a potato. When they are dormant, they seem to be capable of producing new plants from any fragments that have at least 1 eye. I have attached a link to the blog on receiving my itoh peonies.

Here is a link that might be useful: My itoh peonies

• stevelau1911
    11 years ago

Here's what I found on the chilling requirements, so it might be possible on one of your cooler winters to get flowering. Even if you don't have enough cooling hours for vernalization, if you have an ice machine, you could probably pour ice over the peonies, or place frozen bottles around them to cool down the soil temperature for 2-3 weeks in order to induce bud development each winter. Just have styrofoam covers to make sure the ice doesn't melt too quickly.

Chill Hours for Peonies