Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lilacs_of_may

Sorbet peony problem

lilacs_of_may
16 years ago

I got and planted a Sorbet peony rhizome/root (?) about three months ago. It had some red buds on it, but they gradually died. Then about 3-4 weeks ago, I noticed a bud popping up out of the soil. It grew to be about an inch and a half tall, but now it seems to be drying up, although I try to make sure that it's regularly watered. And today I noticed that the whole root is kind of loose in the ground, like it's no longer anchored well.

Is there hope for this peony? Last fall I planted a Festiva Maxima and a Bowl of Beauty. They both leafed out this year although they haven't bloomed (but I didn't expect them to). I also planted this spring a Kirinmaru (sp?) that gets morning sun. It leafed out, although the leaves were smaller, but lately it's been drooping, even after being watered.

Can anyone shed any light on this? I'm a newbie gardener, and this is my first time for peonies, although we had them when I was a kid.

Comments (7)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    16 years ago

Your Sorbet is probably history. This sounds like you planted directly in the soil where you had little control over the growing conditions. A bareroot peony does better potted for the first year and put in the garden the next spring with a well established root system. Al

• lilacs_of_may
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Dang. Like I said, I'm a newbie gardener, and no one told me this before or when I bought the peony.

Next time....

At least the Festiva Maxima and Bowl of Beauty are doing well. They're small, and they didn't bloom, but they're alive and healthy.

Thanks for the info.

• Nancy
    16 years ago