Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alexh1000

Peonies good choice for my garden?

alexh1000
17 years ago

Hi,

I have created a raised bed L shaped border with each leg of the border being about 20' long by about 6' wide and backed by a 6' high wooden fence. I originally intended it as a mostly informal border but my wife prefers the more formal look so that's the direction it's going. Soil and light conditions are pretty much perfect for most sun loving perennial plants. Hopefully I won't bore you too much with the plant selections I have made so far but I'm new to this so any input is appreciated. I have bought several great books on border design but of course specific input based on my situation is valuable also.

My basic approach is to start at one end of the "L" with predominately purple colors and progress roughly to pink and then red. One leg of the "L" has a 8' foot high trellis the entire length. I'm starting with purple Clematis teamed with various purple perennials such as verbena, flox and some bulbs. The next "section" would be dominated by roses -backed by a climbing variety progressing down to miniatures with some complementary perennials mixed in and a small urn thrown in for good measure. The final section of the trellis would support Clematis of the red varieties.

At the corner of the "L" the diagonal is about 9' so I was thinking of using a dwarf Kwansan flowering cherry as a centerpiece with various complimentary perennials and bulbs around it. I chose the cherry after reviewing many other types of smaller trees/shrubs for it's classic form, dramatic blooms and it's tolerance of understory plantings. Some say it's a boring tree when it's not blooming or in fall colors but sometimes I think a dramatic change is better than extended mediocrity. Of course a large urn could substitute but that's a little too pretentious IMO.