Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jerseywendy

Kamatanishiki Come-back!

jerseywendy
18 years ago

Hello everyone :)

I am brand new to the world of Peonies, and currently own 4 (possibly 5???) peonies.

In early spring my local nursery offered several potted Kamatanishiki tree peonies, and I quickly purchased one of them. It was still quite small, perhaps 1' tall at best, and potted in a 1 gallon container with a very light soil mixture, containing quite a bit of granular fertilizer as well.

In any case, my flower bed wasn't ready (hubby re-did the entire front this summer, so I had no room to plant it yet), but I decided to put it in a bigger pot with "better" dirt. Within less than 1 month every single leave had wilted and died. The location where it was kept received morning sun and afternoon shade, and I'm fairly certain I neither over- nor underwatered. I was so disappointed and sad when it appeared to have died.

I grabbed all my courage, put the Kamatanishiki in my car, and drove back to the nursery, hoping they'd at least give me a discount on another - IF they had any left. (It was VERY pricy). Without even taking a glimpse at what I believed to have been a dead tree peony, the owner immediately replaced it free of charge. She told me since I was a repeat customer, there was no need for a receipt or proof of a dead peony. WOW!

I drove back home - 2 Kamatanishikis in tow, one healthy and vigorous looking, the other presumed dead. Instead of discarding the dead-looking one, I decided to cut off all dead leaves (which was all of them :( ) and planted it directly into an open spot in my back yard - just to wait and see if MAYBE....just maybe ...it would attempt to make a come-back next spring.