Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
unrulylust4life

Dividing Peonies

unrulylust4life
15 years ago

I was so excited when we moved into this house and discovered we had Peonies! Now I am just learning about them, and noticed that I should have cut some of the "extra" buds off and I would have gotten larger blooms...will know better next year. Now for my question: The plant(s) cover about a 3' area...I would like to slipt them up at least by half. How do I do this, and is it wise? btw...can somebody please tell me how to put a picture in with my message? I can't seem to figure it out. I have a beautiful peopnie pic I wanted to show you....

Comments (12)

• houdinii
    15 years ago

Fall is the best time to split them. My suggestion would be to dig up only part of the plants you want to split vs. uprooting the whole plants and resetting them in the ground. If each plant covers 3' I would think you could leave part of it undisturbed and still get 3-4 eyes on the roots you dig up. If you dig the whole plant and disturb it, then you have a higher probability of foregoing a season of blooms next year.

Wherever you plant them next, prepare the soil thoroughly in advance, and give it some healthy soil. Plant with the eyes no more than 2" below the top of the soil. In fact, since dirt settles and sinks over time, especially if you dig deep to loosen up the soil, I'd plant with the eyes no more than 1" deep, and just cover lightly with soil. You can always add more soil to the top, but if you plant too deep it's tougher to fix that problem.

If someone else is reading this and has more advice or differing advice, please comment.