Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ebster_gw

Tree peony fall care

ebster
17 years ago

I was wondering how to clean up the leaves of tree peonies. The leaves from my herbaceous peonies have turned

yellow and I cut them down today. However, the leaves

from the tree peonies are still green. Should I wait

until they fall off then clean around the base of the

plant, or should I start stripping the leaves one by one (that seem like a lot of work, especially as the

tree peony gets older and bigger). Thanks for your

advice!

Comments (7)

• valentina
    17 years ago

My tree peonies are all young and I cannot say I have a lot of experience, but why would you want to get rid of the leaves? (I wouldn't)
    All I do for my tree peonies in fall is gather lots of leaves from the yard and pile them around the plants. Mulch to give them a little protection from the winter winds.

Valentina

• maifleur01
    17 years ago

If you try stripping the leaves you run a chance of stripping some of the bark also, If you just can not stand the look you can cut the leaf stems about 3-4 inches from the stem. However why out do mother nature. She put the leaf stems there for a reason. Probably to protect the new buds.

Depending on how your plants are sited. You should consider surrounding the plants with leaves and/or fencing with leaves in it. Tree peonies that are in a sunny site will try to leaf out early. This is because the effect of the sun on the stems warming the sap. Since many times in the winter if you go outside one side of you will be warm but the other side is still cold. I feel that the uneven temperature can cause the sap to run on the side facing the warmth meeting the still frozen area and cause the stem to burst. Depending on where the burst stem is located at the plant you might have lost of flowers for the year or if near the base of the plant lost of the whole thing.