Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lsythes

tree vs herbaceous peonies--how can I tell the difference?

Lsythes
18 years ago

Hi all,

Still a newbie here and to gardening, as I will be for a while. My husband and I closed on a house in mid August with gardens sorely neglected but full of wonderful potential. I've been doing a lot of reading on prepping perrenials for winter. Here's my question-- I'm almost positive we have herbaceous and not tree peonies, and this will probably seem like a foolish question to you peony experts, but how can I know for sure? I know you are absolutely not supposed to cut back tree peonies (at least that is what I read), but if there are herbaceous, I really want to cut them back. They are about 3ft high, green leaves (that are browning a bit and have had some critters chewing on them). The reason I'm wondering is b/c I thought that herb. peonies mostly had to be staked or they would flop, and these seems pretty strong, but everything is still green. So, can you help me out? Thanks so much!! Laura

Comments (5)

• Lsythes
    Original Author
    18 years ago

The foliage looks like this one. This is an herb. peony, yes? Thanks!!

Here is a link that might be useful: a peony forum picture

• shrubs_n_bulbs
    18 years ago

Tree peonies have trunks :) Seriously, a tree peony has a woody structure like a small tree that remains over the winter and then grows new leaves next spring. Almost always there will be a single woody trunk emerging from the ground which will branch at quite a low level. Occasionally you may get multiple trunks, either from the tree peony branching below ground level, or from root suckers.

A herbaceous peony is herbaceous :) Can you tell I'm on a roll today? Herbaecous means that it dies down to the ground in the winter, then grows brand new stalks and leaves next spring. The typical habit is lots of individual stalks will grow out of the ground from a central crown.

• maifleur01
    18 years ago