Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
primgal36

Did I cut back too early????

primgal36
16 years ago

I'm worried I cut back some of my peonies too early. I just found more information that you should wait until your first hard frost. I didn't even know you should cut them back at all. Will this hurt them in any way? I love peonies, but there's so much conflicting info on how to care for them. I'd appreciate any feedback. Do any of you add fertilizer when you plant new ones in the fall? I read you should, but can someone elaborate? I often have to buy them bare root, because I can't afford to always get already established ones. These are 3 years old, and this was the first year they bloomed.

Comments (6)

• suel41452
    16 years ago

I'm no peony expert, and I've heard to wait until the first hard frost, too - but I don't think it would HARM the plant any if you cut back a couple of weeks or so before the hard frost.
    The idea is to keep the green leaves on the plant as long as possible because thru them the plant gets nutrition to the root to store up energy to produce blooms.
    So cutting back foliage a few weeks earlier would theoretically reduce that energy storage a wee bit. I don't know if anyone's studied that to see if a few weeks actually makes any discernable difference. Maybe lose 1 bloom out of 20?

• suel41452
    16 years ago

I forgot about your fertilizer question. Planting peonies in the fall is the very best way to plant them. The instructions that came with my roots from Adelman Gardens were to dig a hole 2 feet deep and 3 feet wide. That's a pain, but worth it because peonies put out a MASSIVE root system. They said to put a 2 inch layer of aged compost & manure at the bottom of the hole, and mix in 1-2 handfuls of bonemeal with the dirt. They said NOT to use Miracle-Gro (granules or liquid) because it can burn the roots.

• primgal36
    Original Author
    16 years ago