Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
glassmouse

buy now or next year?

glassmouse
18 years ago

I would like to order a "grab bag" of peonies that is advertised at New Peony Farms. I do have a place to plant them right now, but I would want to move them next fall to a different spot (that part of the yard is not yet ready for planting anything). Should I order and plant them this year in order to get that one year's head-start on growth, or should I just wait and order something similar next year since the shock of moving them next fall will cancel out any "one more year of growth" advantage?

New to peonies, so thanks for any advice--

Comments (15)

• irish_rose_grower
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm not sure, I'm new to peonies too, but was looking for this website, New Peony Farms and didn't pull it up on my search. Do you have their website?

Thanks
    maureen

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    18 years ago

Anything advertised as a "grab bag" is sure to be minimal plants. I think I would pot them up now and get a years growth to bring them up to a reasonable size for next years garden. Al

• glassmouse
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks for the advice, Al--I will do just that since I can't resist a sale.

IrishRoseGrower: I have listed the web site below.

Does anyone know anything about New Peony Farm? There's only one comment on them in GardenWatchdog (although it is a positive comment).

Here is a link that might be useful: New Peony Farm

• diannp
    18 years ago

I believe that the New Peony Farm is what is left of Brand's Peony Farm. Brand's Peony Farm was a major hybridizer in it's day. I believe Bob Tischler was one of the more important hybridizer from Brands.

Diann
    IA Z5a

• irish_rose_grower
    18 years ago