Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
irish_rose_grower

Want to learn about peonies and trade if you want...

irish_rose_grower
18 years ago

HI. I'm new to peonies. I just received a beautiful peony from a lovely lady Jeanne (HI Jeanne) on the forum. Now I need to know all about peonies, what type of sun, soil, fertilizing, watering, etc. Also if anyone is interested in trading peonies, I have some perennials I could trade for.

Also, who has the BEST prices online for peonies. I saw some websites and the cheapest prices were around 20.00.

Also, if there is one super fragrant gorgeous PINK peony that I must have, which one is it?

Thanks

Maureen

Comments (5)

• Mozart2
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Irish Rose Grower:

Since you wish to know all about the world of Peonies, my first suggestion is to obtain a copy of "Peonies" by Jane Fearnley-Whittingstall. Obviously, you can find copies at your public library or through their inter-library loan system or you can purchase the book through various new or used book dealers.

Two excellent sources of used/new books are

http://www.abe.com

or

http://www.alibris.com

These two sources, which are links to a very wide array of used and new booksellers, which often offer books in new, near new, fine, very good, etc. conditions.

With regard to the book itself, "Peonies" provides an excellent history, overview, and an good discussion of an extremely wide variety of different types of peonies with various lists - including those suitable for cut flowers, fragrance, etc.

Information from Amazon.com about this book: