Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
berrytea4me

volunteer tree peony seedling

berrytea4me
16 years ago

I was weeding under my tree peony yesterday and kept looking at this weird weed not wanting to pull it until I knew what it was...then I realized that it is a seedling from the peony!

I've never tried to hybridize peony before. How do I take care of the seedling? I've always heard that tree peony are hard to propagate and that's why they are grafted. Will it do well on it's own root? I know with my roses that own root usually grow stronger.

Is it likely to be true to it's parent? I only have 2 of the same variety (It's Kamada, deep purple, I think 'nishiki'-- my $1.99 end of season finds at a local grocery store 10 yrs ago) and 1 'flying circus' herbaceous peony. Can tree peony even cross with the herbaceous variety?

I like happy accidents but am new to this and curious if it's worth the effort or if it might become a fun new part of my gardening hobby.

Comments (11)

• evonnestoryteller
    16 years ago

$1.99 for a tree peony? WOW! How lucky is that?! I wish I could find that deal.

This link may give you some leads. They are speaking about growing tree peonyh from seeds.

http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/peony/msg0620543632222.html

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    16 years ago

I would wait and see. There is a chance it may be growing from the root of your peony, and not be a seedling at all. Al

• peonyman
    16 years ago