Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anamandy

Peony Index

lovetogarden
12 years ago

Would anyone know of a book or website strictly devoted to indexing Peonies - color, size, height, staking required or not, season, fragrance, etc.? Any info appreciated.

Comments (6)

• stevelau1911
    12 years ago

This might be it, but I'm also a beginner with peonies. I would try a library first.

Here is a link that might be useful: Book on peonies

• daveinohio_2007
    12 years ago

See Carsten Burkhardts Web Project Paeonia.
    Click on english version, The Peony Library.

Here is a link that might be useful: web project paeonia

• daveinohio_2007
    12 years ago

That link doesnt work.
    Try www.paeon.de
    Or google web project paeonia.

• peonyman
    12 years ago

I tried to set up an indexing system about 10 years ago. It is located at http://www.peonies.org/ident.html

The index is dependent upon users inputing information on cultivars. While a few hundred descriptions have been submitted that did not happen the way I hoped it would.

If anyone has any suggestions on how to get people to add info to the database I am ready to listening.

Leon

Here is a link that might be useful: indexing of peonies

• lovetogarden
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks everyone. I guess it's so hard to do something like that because the varieties of Peonies, like Daylillies, keeps getting larger and larger every year. In a few years any book would almost be obsolete. LOL!

Anyway, thank you all for your suggestions.