Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ka0ttic

ka0ttic's peppers 2014

ka0ttic
10 years ago

Firstly, I want to thank everyone here. I've learned so much from you guys over the last 6 months. A few of you have sent seeds and I am ever so grateful for that at as well. This is my first year growing seriously and also my first time growing from seed. I have been impatiently waiting to move into my new place so I had room to start and finally I am moved in and settled.

I'm using cheap plastic drink cups that I melted holes in the bottoms with a hot screwdriver. I was able to fit 17 cups in a standard 1020 tray, however with that many the humidity dome didn't fit tightly and I ended up having to mist the cups every other day. No big deal. I used what I had on hand to make the seed starting mix, 1 part sphagnum peat moss and 1 part perlite. I planted 3 seeds per cup. I believe I have 13 varieties starting now in those 17 cups.

First one up was Jalapeno M, followed by Ancho San Luis and Indian Carbon Bhut. Here's the jalapeno.

The setup.

Comments (35)

• seysonn
    10 years ago

Congrats on the first sprout .

As long as the seeds are kept moist, they should sprout. The thing is that it happens faster when the temperature is on the warmer side (80 - 85F).

• ka0ttic
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Yeah I'm sure the rest will be up in the next couple days. They're all sitting on a heat map with soil temp around 85. So far it's been 10 days I believe.

• StupidHotPeppers
    10 years ago

That set up looks great. Nothing better than making something on the cheaper side to go as far as spendy equipment. As long as you have a small breeze a few hours a day once sprouted to build strength, stability, and to keep fungi from developing, also if the temps drop a little more at night then what the temp it is during the day, I can imagine you will have some great peppers on the way!! Good Luck man

• ka0ttic
    Original Author
    10 years ago