Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luisito8m

When to harvest my Peppers??

luisito8m
12 years ago

I am new to gardening.

I have 2 pepper plants, a Serrano and a Long Thin Cayanne..

Correct me if I am wrong, the Serrano should be eaten when green, the Cayanne when red..

Ironically, I left a Serrano Pepper too long and it turned red, when I tasted it, it was horrible, too old. And my Cayanne hasn't turn red, its very light green..

I've taken a couple of peppers "thinking" that they were ready and when I would cut them I noticed the seeds were still forming and tender, and the taste was not close to the one of a pepper..

I have not idea when to harvest my peppers.. any ideas? :(

Comments (8)

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    12 years ago

Normally Cayennes are picked after turning red but I have seen several posts saying they can be picked any time prior and usually will just be a bit less hot. I have never grown Serranos but I know they are usually green when offered in the stores. I thought that was more of a color preference thing than a taste thing. Sometimes peppers are picked for the color to determine the color of the sauce or whatever is made out of them.
    I am no expert by any means but I would say you pick them when you want to. If the Serranos seem to taste "horrible" when fully ripe, then pick them before they change but if time isn't an issue, I would let the Cayenne's get red first. It seems that most peppers grow to full size and just sit there and stay green for weeks before, all of a sudden, one day you come out and look at them and you notice one or two has some orange or red on them. Then within a few more days they all start turning and soon you are pulling them off the plant a dozen at a time.
    Bruce

• luisito8m
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks for the advice Bruce,

I want to make dried crushed pepper from my Cayanne, and mexican green salsa from the Serrano.