Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peppernovice

Determining when to plant.....

peppernovice
11 years ago

I'm still new at this, so I don't know the species of pepper plants. I don't know which are long season, and which are short. I need to know where I can locate this information, so I know which seeds to plant now. I don't want to end up with 5 foot tall plants in my house, because I planted too early. Any direction would be greatly appreciated.

Tim

Comments (13)

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    11 years ago

It will be tough to find specific information for your varieties for your growing zone. I would post the varieties you plan on growing and someone one here will be able to give you some concrete guidelines to follow.

But keep in mind that light, fertilizers, soil, temps and a host of other factors will go a long ways in determining how big your plants will grow over a specified time period. For instance, if you start and grow your seedlings in the basement in 60 degree temps, your plants will grow a lot slower than someone who is getting them 80 degrees and 6 hours of sun every day. Not that growing in the basement is bad, but it does alter the growing rate generally. We dont all have south facing windowed rooms with room for 30 pepper plants.

But, judging by your growing zone 7, I would think now would be fine to start your Chinense plants. You should be able to get them outside early April and that is about 2.5 months from now. Maybe wait until the first week of February to start your anuumms and others. Here is a photo of mine from 2 seasons ago after growing 9 weeks from date of planting the seed. Yes, I still had a long ways to go before I could get them outside and yes, they were significantly bigger when I finally did get them planted outside but like you, I didn't know when to start as it was my first year. But plants this size are perfect for transplanting outside.
    Bruce

• chilliwin
    11 years ago