Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Container Soil 2013

Posted by chilliwin 7 (My Page) on
Thu, Jan 3, 13 at 15:29

For the coming season I have been doing all my best to have some good hot chili plants. This is my first time so I do not like to be failed. However constantly I got frustration one after another :(

Today I went to the nursery center; they give discount on all the organic compost for 50 liter it cost about $10.00. I bought one bag and looking for pine bark and found that the one I have used for my container soil is not pine bark:(. This one:

Photobucket

Are these barks OK to use for container soil mix?

Only the available pine bark is decorative the size is about 1/8 inch. I have been thinking to try Al's 5:1:1 container soil so can I use this decorative pine bark for 5:1:1?

The organic compost:
Photobucket

I hope this compost will be good for hot chili plants. I never found container soils with nutrients value marking, like this one, I feel lucky because the pH level is 5.7 to 6.5.

Any help will be appreciated.

Caelian

This post was edited by chilliwin on Thu, Jan 3, 13 at 15:34

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Container Soil 2013

That bark looks very good for use in a container mix.
It has the fibrous look of Fir bark, but I could be wrong. Either way, good stuff.

When you say compost, I assume you mean it in the European sense of 'potting mix.'
It is common for potting mixes to have nutrients/fertilizer added.

Even with the added nutrients, the compost won't be a major fraction of the mix,
so be sure to add 1 Tablespoon Dolomitic Garden Lime per gallon of overall mix you make.
Many of us like to incorporate a slow-release fertilizer like Osmocote, as well.

Josh

o
RE: Container Soil 2013

Hi Josh, thank you for the reply.