Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
djole_gw

Starting seeds under lights

Djole
9 years ago

I've never grown plants under lights before, I have zero experience or knowledge on the subject.
This year I want to start more seedlings than my windowsill can hold. I've got some empty space where I could fit the table with trays, the downside is that its in total darkness and at the constant temperature of around 68F.
I need help choosing the right setup and timing for my seeds, my questions are:

1. Which type of light / blubs should i use given the darkness and the temperature? The ones I can obtain at the market here are CFLs ranging from 65W to 250W, type Red and type Blue (2700K and 6400K, ), then MHs ranging from 150W to 1000W (various Ks) and HPSs also 150W to 1000W.

2. How does growing under lights affect timing (when to start the seeds and transplant the plants)? I always start my seeds (C. Chinense types) on windowsill late January, so they are ready for transplanting at the end of April / beggining of May. Would it take a different pace (faster) under lights?

I'd strongly prefer using CFLs for this as they dont need any additional equipment (you can stick them in the regular socket). Are they sufficient for the whole period from starting seeds till they are ready to transplant outside?

Thanks!

Comments (15)

• ozzy2001
    9 years ago

CFLs work fine. 6500k is what you want for vegetation. The 2700k comes into play with fruiting. To my knowledge, the timing will remain the same. You'll want about an 18hr on/6hr off cycle and try to keep the light a few inches away.

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    9 years ago

I suggest simple shop lights with T8 bulbs in the 5000k-6500k range. This is easily the simplest and most cost effective solution. A 4' shop light can be had for about $10 and the bulbs are not that expensive. The cost to run florescent lights isn't bad either.