Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Growing Moruga Scorpions Indoors

Posted by MorugaMan 4 (My Page) on
Sat, Jan 18, 14 at 16:46

I have been growing my Moruga Scorpions for about 3 months now. A few were planted a month after so a few are 2 months old but I'm just curious to why they are so short and bushy but not very tall? Is it the type of pepper or type or light I'm using? I had 8 flouro lights on them for 2 months then I decided to change to a 240w LED light panel. Here are some pictures

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Growing Moruga Scorpions Indoors

Notice the leaf size compared to the height of the plant. These plants are no taller than 10 inches if that but incredibly bushy after topping them

o

The Hot Box

o

First of all, those look like beautiful healthy plants. I'm far from an expert, but maybe it has something to do with how tall they were when you topped them? IIRC, they were pretty small when you topped them, right?

o

That's what happens. The Auxin that was directing the plant to grow upward is redirected to the lateral nodes, causing outward growth.

Josh

o

Yeah that makes a lot of sense now. I probably did it too early but maybe it will turn out nice?

o

Should turn out just fine :-)

Josh

o

Keep us (me) updated!
Personally I'd like to see how peppers turn out when topped earlier, rather than later in the growth process.

o

Yeah for sure Juts. They have been really slow growing but I'll post some after a few weeks. 2 plants are budding so maybe I'll have some flowers here soon

o

Yeah for sure Juts. They have been really slow growing but I'll post some after a few weeks. 2 plants are budding so maybe I'll have some flowers here soon

o

Here is an update

o

Still lookin good. May get a bit crowded soon though with those in the same pot.

Jay

o

I ended up completely chopping the second plants out of both pots. Now they are along and won't compete anymore.

o