Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bill_missy

Grinders

Bill_Missy
11 years ago

Hello.

I have been researching grinders to grind this years harvest (I am a rookie and this is my first ever harvest). I am wondering what is the best and what everyone is using? I am looking for something that will do a corase grind as well as a very find grind. Thoughts/Recommendations greatly appriciated.

Bill

Comments (22)

• habjolokia z 6b/7
    11 years ago

Useful info see link below of previous post

Here is a link that might be useful: GW post about powders

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    11 years ago

Bill Missy, make sure you check the link provided by habjolokia. But as for me, I use a simple coffee grinder. I used the one we had in the house for coffee but after a batch of Nagas, my wife ground a batch of coffee beans and I was immediately told I was allowed to buy a seperate one just for peppers. I bought one from Walmart for about $29 and it has several grind settings on it. I always used the Esspresso setting. I usually grind it longer than that setting gives by default and it comes out in a very fine powder. Some like it a bit more coarse which is fine and the lower settings would do good for that.

I would not invest a ton of money in whatever type of grinder I used unless I wanted to grind huge quantities. But the average guy can easily use a coffee grinder.

The key is not so much the grinder, but is to ensure the peppers are fully dried first. If they are not, they will not grind as well and the resulting powder will tend to cake up while in storage. I suggest you invest in a food dehydrator to ensure you are getting them dried as much as possible.
    Bruce

• DMForcier
    11 years ago

You got a burr grinder for $29? That's quite a price. I still use a Krups spinning-blade-of-death grinder for coffee. Mayhaps I'll retire it for a burr grinder and use for peppers. The blade grinder should be able to handle not-entirely-dry peps and herbs.

• sidhartha0209