Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Seed trays or...??

Posted by Bill_Missy none (My Page) on
Thu, Jan 3, 13 at 20:40

Hello all. Bill here again with another rookie question. My wife bought me a bunch of seeds for Christmas of various Hots and Super hots. Again, I am new to this but am loving it and have the itch... Are seed trays the way to go to start the germination/growing process or just buy some soil mixture and hope for the best?

p.s. I did finally buy a grinder which should be here in a couple days. I love this site, great info and great reading. THANKS.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Seed trays or...??

Hello! First my disclaimer.. I am NOT an expert in this.. but I am heading into my 2nd pepper growing season with all the great info I've learned from this site.

When I started my seeds last February, I didn't do anything special.. just used Jiffy peat pods in the little plastic greenhouse they come in. I don't have a lot of room for them so I didn't have many. It was the size of a dozen eggs... I just kept them warm, made sure they didn't dry out and took the plastic lid off from time to time to let air in so they didn't grow moldy. Once large enough, the lid came off and I eventually cut the Jiffy pods off the roots and re-potted. I only grow them in containers.

You'll see a lot of info on custom blended soil mixes that allow them to grow and drain properly. I didn't have that and last year my soil had much too much water retention.. I would consider a mix for next year. I did get through the season with a small harvest of Jalapeno and Cayenne though. I have 2 plants overwintering also.. to get a jump start on next season.