Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Heat mat for seedlings

Posted by bberkmor 6a (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 26, 14 at 22:13

Quick question, How long do you guys keep using your heat mats on seedlings after they have sprouted. Do you cycle it on and off with the lights? How does it affect your growth? My seedlings have mostly popped thanks to Ottawapepper and this is my first year with the heat mat. I used the peat pellets (first) and not to impressed with them so far, I can't wait until I can transplant into some regular soil.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Heat mat for seedlings

This is my first year w seedlings, but I take them off right after they sprout, and switch to only lights at that point. Until now I've always grown from prestarted plants, but from what I have gathered the heat mats could make them leggy if kept on after sprouting.

Then again I live in FL, so the temps aren't too cold by any means. Suppose I would actually utilize a heat mat longer if it were to be drastically cold inside (or where ever they may be germinating).

o

I agree . Heat mat is just a soil heater for fast and efficient seed germination. Once the seed is germinated it needs light and of course moderate amount of ambient temperature. With an air temperatures of 60F and higher, there is no need for heating up the soil. That is how the normal soil temperatures are outdoors in spring time. However, if you want faster growth rate, you can raise the ambient temperatures to up to 85F.

jmo

o

Agree with the above posters. By the way, peat pellets are not a good idea. Better to use a proper starter mix to get good drainage. Most mixes have peat in them, but pure peat is something no nursery would use.

o

• Posted by esox07 4b Wisconsin (My Page) on
    Mon, Jan 27, 14 at 16:14