Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rustacator

Fighting white fungus during germanation...

Rusty
11 years ago

Hey guys just an another rant and rave by me again :),

This is my first time using a heat mat and I have the temp set at 81 degrees to help aid in the germination process. We'll i bought
a bag of MG seed stater "something I normally get". Got home open it up and what do i find sitting on top white fungus in the bag. So I brought it back to Lowe's. At the store I ended up opening 3 more bags with them all having white fungus in it" by the way manager was there watching this" and after the 3rd bag he told me he's gonna have a recall on the bags. So i asked him if i could try the Jiffy brand open it up every thing looks great, I moved the soil around and said I'll buy this bag. " Sorry for long story."

But anyways I set up my Burpee self watering seedling starter kit "buy 1 a year $20 for 70 seedlings." set it up, and next day white fungus.

I have been spraying once every other day a light cover of 3% H.P. on them. "3 times including today (started germination the 2nd of Feb) just because it keeps coming back" Also I let it air out for at least 8 hours a day plus I have it propped open.

Now what I'm wondering if both brands are getting there stuff from the same place that has a problem or if its just me? Also is multiple spraying of very light soak of H.P. gonna hurt much?

Good news is in the first 3 days I took some Veggie seedlings out. And yesterday took half of my tomato seedlings out. And now the my Jalapeno's are starting to sprout. I wait for leaves before taking out, and transplant to bio pot. They go out side in full sun but in my make shift sun diffuser box "take pictures tomarrow and show." and come in at night. 50's to cold for them baby's :)

Oh here's the set up in my office at the house. "Btw that is not water spots that is H.P.(hydrogen peroxide) just sprayed 2 mins before pics. and the tops where dry when I sprayed them."

Comments (4)