Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brian6464

Recommended Seeding Containers

brian6464
10 years ago

From a pepper seeding standpoint, I am a complete novice. I assume it is merely personal preference, but any advantages to using a peat pot vs an expanding peat pellet vs a grouping of 2 x 6 plastic trays?

I tried peat pots once and it seemed to me it took the roots a real long time to penetrate the pot. On the flip side, it would certainly be easier to just throw a peat pot in the ground when ready than transplanting from plastic pot to plastic pot.

Lastly, I plan on mixing my own potting mix. I see a lot of people talking about pine bark fines but all the posted pics show chunks of wood in the mix. Don't I want a real fine mix that will make it really easy for the seedling to pop through? Won't some of these bark mixtures potentially inhibit the seeds at times?

Comments (3)

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    10 years ago

I have used 3.5" starter containers in the past, but this year I am going with the little 1" cells and will transplant a couple weeks after they come up. Many simply use solo plastic disposable cups. I would not use the peat pots. If I did, I would remove the pot prior to transplanting. They don't break down fast enough and the plants get root bound before they are able to break through the pots. I don't like the peat pellets for two reasons. First pure peat is not a good medium for peppers. Second, those little things tend to dry out very quickly as they are exposed on all but the bottom. If you are not careful, you could lose your seedlings over night.
    I suggest some basic containers that are 3-4" in diameter at the top and fill them with some good starter mix that has perlite and other additives to allow it to drain better. Miracle Grow Seed Starting Mix or another commercially available mix will work. MG Orchid Potting Mix works real well for peppers as it has peat, perlite and pine bark which makes it a good choice.