Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
what next on heavily cut back bell pepper (noob)

Posted by wolph none (My Page) on
Thu, Feb 20, 14 at 2:09

Hello I hope I am posting this in the correct area.if not let me know and I will move/delete it. I have a 1 1/2 year old bell pepper from a big box store. It was in poorly deained pot and was probably suffering major root probablems.I chopped it for winter and repoted it in sunshine mix#4 with a small amount of slow release vigoro 12-10-5 ,lime and some Indonesia bat guano. My question is do I pick the small fruits that are starting to appear? Will it start to shoot steams? Basic pruning and what to do next for it? Thank you I'm new to this and any shared knowlage would be greatly appreciated.

Also is there a probablem using "sweet prilled lime" pellitized?
Thank you all advice will be greatly appreciated! !!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: what next on heavily cut back bell pepper (noob)

If that's a current picture I would say it looks healthy. You said fruits are developing already? Do you want it to grow more?

o

I want it to grow as big as possible since it is early in the season.right now it is just a stick with some leaves.
Will it be ok to let it grow peppers or should I pull them off and allow for more veg growth?(there is very small peppers starting to form)
As it gets bigger what pruning will help with its growth? Top it or fim it? Or just let it go?
Thanks

o

Leave it alone :-)
Let it develop a nice full canopy. Are you sure that it is growing peppers....or are you seeing the flower buds form? Once the flowers are about to open, just pinch them off, and that'll keep the energy directed into producing foliage.

Josh

o

Agree. Once the flowers start to open just pinch em off. It helps throw energy into growing and less into flowering because flower takes a lot of energy. Are you using a window of lights?

o