Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
phantom2487

Cayenne pepper leaf troubleshooting.

Phantom2487
10 years ago

All,

While I've spent most of my time under the 'growing under lights' forum, I figured this one to be more of the 'hot pepper' like.

This plant is just about a month old and it's starting to act weird as far as leafs go it rolled one of the bigger ones over last night (basically did a 180).

I've never done any gardening with peppers before, nor under artificial lighting. Had the beginning of a fungus gnat issue but with information gathered throughout the net a 1" layer of sand should have 'fixed this' put the sand on 2 weeks ago.

Also I've been using melted snow to water them (room temp).

Comments (15)

• Phantom2487
    Original Author
    10 years ago

From another angle to see how really mad this thing is getting.

• User
    10 years ago

I've occasionally had the same thing happen.

If it's only one leaf on one plant and the plant is otherwise healthy, I wouldn't worry about too much.

If other leaves start to roll over get back to us and with more info like; potting medium, feeding regiment; what you're feeding; environmental conditions etc. etc.

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    10 years ago

What Bill said. I notice it happens most with large fruited annums like Bells and Anaheims.. It's been awhile since I grew cayennes, so I can't recall.

Kevin

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    10 years ago

I've seen this happen, too, and it was never an issue...
    That sand, though, that could make things very difficult for the mix to dry.

Josh

• Phantom2487
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks all, I find that most of the issues with these plants turns out to be a non-issue.

But as far as that sand goes, it's necessary to keep the fungus gnats at bay (they were BAD).

Thanks again, the leaf was topside up this morning (funny).