Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brian6464

Seeding in 5-1-1

brian6464
10 years ago

I've read through a lot of the threads and have not yet come across the following:

1. Is it OK to seed in 5-1-1, or is it just to transplant after the first few sets of leaves. Seems like the pine bark might inhibit the seedlings upward movement??

2. Is the Sphagnum Peat referred to in the 5-1-1 the same as Sphagnum Peat Moss?? I have a large brick of this at home. Can I just substitute 1 part potting soil for the 1 part peat?

3. Most of the threads say to add lime. Is this liquid or granular and how much do I add? Let's assume my mix will be 5 gallons Pine Bark, 1 Gallon Perlite, 1 Gallon Peat/Potting Soil. Are we talking a cup of lime??

I'm a newbie so I appreciate any and all input.

Brian

Comments (9)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    10 years ago

Yes, you can substitute 1 part potting mix for the peat - that's exactly what I do (I've never used straight peat moss, in fact).

I recommend that you screen your 5-1-1 so that the largest particles are removed. I typically use a 1/4 inch screen just to tighten up the seedstarting mix. When potting up the seedlings, I use the standard 5-1-1.

I prefer the fine powdered Dolomitic Lime. I think it incorporates better into the mix. You add 1 Tablespoon of Lime per Gallon of mix that you make.

Good luck!

Josh

• brian6464
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks Josh. Exactly the input I was looking for.

One final question and not to split hairs, but do you use potting mix or potting soil? In my area, the potting soil is always a quite a bit heavier than the peat based potting mixes. I purchased a small bag or Burpee Seeding Starting mix which I assume will work fine?

• DMForcier
    10 years ago