Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ab2008

Some Habanero seeds are brown/black

ab2008
11 years ago

Just as the subject has stated. I was seeding a couple of habaneros to save the seeds, and occasionally there are some brown/dark brown looking seeds that are typically smaller than the others. Being fairly new to growing my own peppers.. can these be re-planted? Or should they be discarded?

I have some I ordered from a website, but these are some I saved from habaneros purchased in the local grocery. The habaneros were ripe/orange so the seeds should be OK correct? I have tried planting seeds from jalapenos but since the grocery sells them while they are green, it's been hit and miss with those seeds.

I would appreciate any constructive feedback.

ps: how long should these seeds dry before being replanted (assuming they can of course)

Thank you

Comments (8)

• Bill_Missy
    11 years ago

I am no expert at all. Sencond year grower. For what it is worth and only my opinion (More knowledgable folks will chime in I know, Great site). I would not use the dark brown/Black seeds. I have tried before and no luck with germination. I would just use the nice looking tan/yellow ones with no "blimishes".

From the picture, I think you have a lot of good looking viable seeds there. But again, take what I say with a grain of salt as I am still learning.

Bill

• ab2008
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Bill Missy:

Thank you kindly for the reply. I figured I would ask on here and find out the kind of luck (if any) people may or may not have had with them. I am by no means in short supply of them, but I also didn't want to discard of any that could come up.

But in comparison to any other seeds they don't look that healthy at all.

Follow-up: I can use seeds out of store bought habaneros (like the ones pictured above) can't I? As I stated I do have a pack of seeds purchased from a company, but I have enjoyed them so I figure if I can save seeds - why not!

Thank you again!