Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rodnebridges

germination station

rodnebridges
11 years ago

Hey,it works ! As I stated before ,This is my first year growing indoors. Money is tight right now so I couldn't afford a real grow light system so this will have to do ! Two 600 lumen lights and a coupla cheap desk lamps. The sprouts are responding in a positive fashion though !! On the right is a $4 storage box standing in for a mini greenhouse. Anybody else got a bootleg system that works ?

Comments (29)

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    11 years ago

I like to see people making due with what they can cobble together. It looks like you might have to steal your wifes reading lamp pretty soon when those peppers on the right side start sprouting.
    Bruce

• aussie_chilli
    11 years ago

i use a electric propagator greenhouse from my local bunnings hardware store for those of you not in aus and it seems to work great germination times seem to take a little longer then what i read on here but all seems good

Here is a link that might be useful: bunnings

• rodnebridges
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Yep ! like all of us who suffer from spring fever, i got a lil crazy. I had to put a halt on germinating things. I had no idea how much the heating mat would speed things up. I know I said I would be growing exclusively indoors this year, but if everything I have going right now sprouts,there will definitely be some going outside this year too due to space.

• tn_gardening
    11 years ago

I have something similar, but not as nice :-)

My germination station is just a couple of cardboard boxes.

I'm using Christmas lights for bottom heat. Once they germinate, I move them to box #2 which has a couple of fluorescent bulbs, which are held up by coat hangers, thank you very much :-)

I also have a few seeds in a cup that are sitting on top of my computer tower and on top of my DVR.

• habjolokia z 6b/7
    11 years ago