Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hillseeker

Seed Exchange Etiquette

hillseeker
11 years ago

I'm brand new to seed saving and exchanging but thought it worked on the honor system. I sent someone several seeds and haven't heard from him/her since, despite trying to contact. I understand packages are lost in transit, however a reply would have been appreciated. Truthfully do most people work on the honor system and send you what you agree to exchange? It's unfortunate as now I have few seeds to share to open up my collection. Unsure if I should continue swapping and how not to get scammed again.
Thanks to the few of you that trusted me and traded back. I appreciated it!

Comments (11)

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    11 years ago

HillSeeker: I suppose there are some bad apples anywhere but I have found great people on the Hot Pepper list here at Garden Web. I am sending you an email to your registered email on garden web. Please respond back to me at the email address provided in that email along with your mailing address and I will send you a pack each of: Numex Twilight, Black Cuban, Sweet Banana, Orange Tree Habanero, Hot Hungarian Wax, Naga and Pepperoncini. That should get you started.
    Bruce

• hillseeker
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you that is extremely generous Bruce! I can't wait to try!

• cheeze2002
    11 years ago

I have traded a ton on here , I have a box bigger than a shoebox that is stuffed full of envelopes from all the trades off this forum. Out of all of those I noticed about 3 that didn't send me anything back, there may have been a few more I didn't even notice truth be told but overall I have had nothing but good luck and good trades from this forum.

I also had one guy write me back months later after I sent him seeds and tell me his seed collection got wet and ruined then he had to move right after that. So if thats true or not isnt important but my point is stuff does come up in peoples life that cant be helped.