Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rathos

Why all the bell pepper hate?

Rathos
12 years ago

This is my first post here, so I decided to make it a good one ;)

I'm still fairly new to gardening but I've jumped up to (24) 4x12 beds, irrigation, yadda yadda. I've been browsing a while gleaning info but I noticed that there's nothing current for bells, only hots. I'll be growing a decent variety, but after reading the in-depth discussions on tomatoes, etc., I was surprised not to find similar info on sweets (without digging ad nauseam).

So why is there no love for sweets? I'll be trying out bhuts, carrib's, and some others as well (don't fret) but it struck me as odd. Fire away!

-Rathos

Comments (51)

• fusion_power
    12 years ago

Life is all about character. Either you have it... or you don't. Same for peppers.

I grow peppers for flavor. Orange Bell is arguably the only bell pepper that passes muster. There are others that taste decent, but I won't go out of my way to grow them.

DarJones

• Rathos
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Fair enough =)

My questions about it really relate more to issues of spread, pro/con of closer or further spacing, proper fert mixing and timing.

For hots as well as bells, my working knowledge of how big they tend to grow is limited and most places I look just parrot each other with generalizations. After seeing the detail in tomatoes here, I was hoping for the same for all varieties of peppers ;)

I'm working with (4) 4x12 beds dedicated to peppers. I'm trying to maximize what I can get. I was estimating something on the order of 50+ considering 2ft spacing for bells and slightly less for hots. Hots = Bhut, Haba, Jala, and maybe a devil's tongue or three if I can get legit seeds and step on germination.

• shoontok
    12 years ago

Bell peppers? wtf are those? hahaha j/k

There is some talk about sweet peppers on some of these threads.