Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jewlz2121

Please help, wilted peppers!

jewlz2121
11 years ago

Hi all. This is my first post, so thanks to anyone that can help with a response. This is my first time starting pepper from seed. There are different types of pepper seeds in the same tray, and I used Burpee pellets. I haven't used any fertilizer on them. I may have been guilty of overwatering. They were all healthy until a few days ago when I transplanted the tomato seedlings that were in the same tray. They have been on a heat mat until this morning (I thought I may have cooked them?) and they are getting about 14 hrs of fluorescent light per day. For some reason, I thought they were still too little to transplant, but by reading through posts, I think that was wrong. It started with just a few wilting, but now it's half the tray. Why? What should I do? Is there any way to save the wilted seedlings? Should I transplant them all to solo cups, even the limp ones? Should I use seed starting mix when I transplant or something else? Thanks again.

Comments (10)

• jewlz2121
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Another view

• sunnibel7 Md 7
    11 years ago

First, take them off the heat mat. That's for starting seeds, once they are up, a bit cooler for the roots is better. Second, since I'm not there to pick them up and look at them, I might be wrong, but it looks like they dried out too much. Or, did you jostle them a lot while potting up the tomatoes and damage their roots? Either way, a bit of water will help what can be helped, though some might not make it from the looks of it. Third, get them into some bigger pots, they need much more space for their roots. That small amount of space may be why they have dried out so fast. Cheers!

• jewlz2121
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you! Should I re-pot them using a seed starting mix? Or a potting soil? Should I fertilize? They don't seem dry, the leaves are not dry just damp and wilted.