Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
foose4string

Corno di Toro seed problem

foose4string
14 years ago

I know Corno di Toro is a sweet variety. I hope you all won't mind me posting this here, but maybe some of you pepper experts can give more insight.

This will be my second year in a row trying to start Corno Di Toro seed. I have successfully grown many other types of peppers from seed for the past several years like, California Wonder, Big Dipper, Jalapeno, Cayenne, Anaheim, Sweet Banana, etc...the typical stuff. For some reason I'm more adventurous when it comes to my tomatoes and have dozens of tomato seed varieties on tap, including some popular and not so popular heirloom varieties. My pepper seed usually comes straight from the Burpee rack. I generally have good luck with starting pepper seed, but the Corno Di Toro are not cooperating.

Last year, I called Burpee to tell them of the difficulty I was having with these seeds, and let them know I was not a total newb when it came to starting seed indoors....especially, peppers and tomatoes. She offered to send another pack Corno di Toro of seeds, ensuring the lot #'s were different. I happily accepted.

A few weeks ago, I tried starting seed from the replacement pack that was sent to me last year. And this year, same thing, no dice on germination. All the other varieties I normally grow have sprouted, but not the Corno Di Toro! I tried poking around in the soil with a pencil to see what I could see, and I don't see any hint of a plants starting to emerge. Is there something special I should be doing to start this variety? I've always had good luck with Burpee seed and can't imagine having two bad packs of seed from different lots. Has to be something I'm doing wrong. Any suggestions?

Comments (23)

• ohiopeppers
    14 years ago