Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tnks

48" Grow bulbs

TNKS
10 years ago

What is the best bang for the buck bulbs to get from Lowes/HD?
Found a comment(but didnt write it down) something to the effect of one bulb 6500k and the other 3000k in a 2 bulb 48" hood(fixture)

TIA

Comments (13)

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    10 years ago

2 bulbs 6500K, "daylight" T8 is what I use. Total cost was around 30 bucks at HD.

• TNKS
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Researching . . . . . . it appears the T5's are a superior option to the T8.
    http://www.t5growlightguide.com/t5-vs-t8/

• flipback23
    10 years ago

TNKS, good question. This is my first year doing the pepper thing hardore lol. I have 3 2bulb T12 setups over my plants with 6500k bulbs and is seems to work fine. But now wondering if I should have bought the T5s or 8s.

• OKgrowin
    10 years ago

T5s are more expensive and offer modest updates in terms of lumens / watt.

in this example i will use 4x4x2 area. say we go for like 10k lumens.

t8
    30 = 2 x 2bulb fixture
    18 = 2 x 2 bulb daylight
    50 total
    energy usage = 128 watts
    lumens = 10.4k
    efficiency(lumen/watt) = 81

t5
    159.99 4 bulb 4ft fixture (with bulbs)
    160 total
    energy usage = 216 watts
    lumens = 20k
    or
    95 2bulb 4ft fixture (with bulbs)
    95 total
    energy usage = 108 watts
    lumens = 10k
    efficiency(lumen/watt) = 92

CFL
    12 diy fixture ( power strip 4$ÃÂ + light socket to plug adapters 8$ + some alum foil as reflector..(free)
    32 4 cfl bulb )
    50 total (factor in misc expense for diy)
    energy usage = 168 watts
    lumens = 11.2k
    efficiency(lumen/watt) = 66

conclusion
    i would just buy t8s because they have lower start up cost and decent efficiency for a hobby grower.

• drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a
    10 years ago