Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dhelsdon

My First Flower(s)

Dhelsdon
11 years ago

Hi all,

I am new to growing peppers, and I am pretty excited to share with you all that my first flowers are coming in nicely. Just curious about how long now until they start producing?

The flower shown bloomed a day or two ago.

This is Cayenne pepper, planted in a 3 gallon pot, I assume if I want a decent yield I should move up to at least a 5 gallon pot?
the plant is about 2.5ft tall from the top of the pot.

This post was edited by Dhelsdon on Wed, Mar 6, 13 at 12:38

Comments (9)

• Dhelsdon
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Anyone tell me how to attach multiple photos without the use of a third party uploader?

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    11 years ago

You can only upload one photo per post with the GW uploader function. Third party photo hosting is the only option I know of for posting multiple photos in one post. The plant looks great and you will likely start seeing more blooms soon. Don't get too upset if that bloom drops without setting fruit. Plants typically start blooming but drop blooms for a while until it feels conditions are just right to set and grow fruit.

Is that plant being kept outside? What grow zone are you in? You can probably continue to grow that plant in that same pot but I would probably upsize soon.
    Good Luck,
    Bruce

• habjolokia z 6b/7
    11 years ago

Your plant looks great. I combine multiple pics into one pic by using ms paint and resize and copy and paste into another until I get my final pic. Then upload the one pic. That's my work around besides photobucket to upload multiple pics.

Mark

• Dhelsdon
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I'm in zone 2A, growing indoors 400w MH temps stay around 80+F during the day and 70F during the night. Lights are on 18/6.. I think these are ideal but correct me if I am wrong.

Hab, that sounds like a PITA, I'll just use photobucket from now on. :)