Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
saramegan2012

Bhut Jolokia flower buds

saramegan2012
11 years ago

My Bhut Jolokia has flower pods that are getting bigger, how long until they open up and then how long until fruit forms. I am also growing them indoors, so when the flowers form how do I pollinate them and when should I do this?

Comments (13)

• chilliwin
    11 years ago

First of all congratulation to your big flower pods.

I cannot answer all of your questions because I am a new inexperience beginner.

For the first time I have also Bhut Jolokia flowers. I have grown it indoor. For the pollination I use a small soft painting brush, soaked in warm water and make it moisture not wet then brushed all the flowers gently.

I have read that Chili plants are self pollinated. Just Google for for more information.

Caelian

• chilliwin
    11 years ago

My flowers are very small. I did hand pollination as I mentioned before.

{{gwi:1154489}}
    {{gwi:1154491}}

I did not expect the flower dropped like this and do not think this pod can survive. It looks immature.

Caelian

• woohooman San Diego CA zone 10a
    11 years ago

Saramegan and Caelian: Don't wet the brush. Just brush it lightly and transfer to another flower by brushing lightly there also. A Q-tip also works well. You can also just shake the plant gently. It doesn't take much to get the pollen airborne.

Kevin

• Bill_Missy
    11 years ago

I used an old electric toothbrush last year on some Hab and jalepanos, worked well. Have not tried on Bhuts as this is my first year attempting Bhuts.

Bill

• chilliwin
    11 years ago

Hi Kevin,

Thank you for the advice.

Caelian

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    11 years ago