Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
NuMex Joe E. Parker

Posted by sworegonjim none (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 9, 11 at 13:38

I am fairly new to growing peppers, but I am trying to grow several varieties this season. I have about 3-dozen sprouts coming along fine, mostly seeds from The Chile Institute. Very mild SHU compared to most of what I see here. I'm getting more adventurous, slowly but surely.

This year I want to fire roast, stuff, can, freeze, make into sauces, salsas, hot sauces, etc., a variety of peppers.

I have read the "Joe E. Parker" is one of the best tasting and versatile of the large green New Mexican Chiles. Any comments and personal opinions would be appreciated. Photos of plants and fruit would be great.

Thanks!

Jim G

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: NuMex Joe E. Parker

If you like mild, the Joe E. Parker is one of the best. You may also like the Heritage Big Jim. The HBJ is a bigger, more flavorful chile that has a little more heat. But here is a pic of some ripe Joe E. Parker pods I grew last year.

Here is a link that might be useful: Joe E. Parker Pics

o
Great photo

Thanks for the photo. Good looking peppers. I have some HBJ and 6-4's sprouted as well. The Jalmundo looks like it ought to be good.

Thanks again for the photo and follow-up.

o
RE: NuMex Joe E. Parker