Return to the Hot Pepper Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
White habanero seedling turning yellow from the middle

Posted by alpchilli none (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 22, 14 at 16:55

Hi everyone,

I'm a novice Chilli grower, this is the first year I am using a grow light and fetilizer.
I have about 25 seedlings on the go, mix
of varieties and they are all going on their 3rd or 4th set of leaves.
They are under a t5 light wave 4 tube 96W light 18hours a day and are in a seedling and cutting compost mixed with vermiculite. I wait until the soil is completely dry or the seedlings start drooping down before I rewater and then I just use a mist spray until the top soil is wet.
I also have started using chilli boost to fertilise (chilli boost from worldofchillies.com, I think it's some kind of seedweed extract. The part in using is for seedlings it says before flowering)
And I'm still waiting for my ph/water/light reader:(

For the last few days I'm having a problem with my white habanero plant.one entire leaf has started to go yellow- and I can see the new leaf growth is the same color too. All other plants seem ok, maybe some have the odd paler leaf but nothing compared to this habanero.
Is this normal should I just let it grow out? Or am I doing something wrong?
I have attached a picture of the plant.

Thanks for any advice:)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: White habanero seedling turning yellow from the middle

My guess is that your fert is high in nitrogen and your plants got too much of it. Just my guess. Hope things turn out. I wouldn't panic though. They tend to find a way to make it out of situations similar to yours

o

It just occured to me that maybe that is part of the varieties growth habit. I Googled and found this picture.

o

Fingers crossed that it's normal. I have some purple cayennes as well and the leaves tend to go purple so maybe white habanero is half a white plant :/