Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
siouxzin

Another newbie to pepper growing

siouxzin
10 years ago

This is lengthy and I apologize in advance, just want you to have the whole "ignorant me" picture..

Last year as a noob, I started seedlings on the following varieties:

Jalapeno
Cayenne
Yellow Wax
Habanero Blend
Cherry Blend
Serrano

I had no idea what I was doing, just winging it really.

I used a seedling tray (burpee tray with wicking mat) indoors in a window and once they got root bound (late April-ish?) I transplanted into a 6 inch round container using Promix-BX and shoved them into a small portable greenhouse until Late May when they again got root bound. I then stuffed 4 � 5 of each type of plant into 9 gallon resin container that I pounded 4-5 nail holes into (for drainage) and hooked these up to a drip system. My drip emitters were 1 gph and the drip was set up to run 1-3 min per hour. I did not add any nutrients to these, just let them grow and then harvested as needed. Hell, didn�t even stake them, they just flopped over and did their thing.

With this approach (again, I had no clue what I was doing) I had what I considered a good sized harvest. The jalapeno, yellow wax, Serrano and cayenne went nuts. Many (100 or so?) fruit each on 3ft tall shrubs (probably very stunted due to overcrowding in the planters). The habanero had probably 20 or so fruit and I wasn�t able to harvest these until October. These were very small but HEY! I got some, so YAY me!