Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emcd124

Recommended peppers other than c. annuum?

emcd124
11 years ago

I'm pretty new to pepper growing. Had a fail with bell peppers in z8 nashville. Grew poblanos in my Z5 indiana garden last year that were very prolific but were started with a purchased seedling.

I'd like to grow both sweet and hot peppers, and I would really like to work towards growing more interesting peppers and seed saving. But I'm not up to more advanced bagging collection methods to ensure the seeds dont mix.

Obviously the bells I'm growing are c annuum. Can you guys recommend the best non-annuum peppers to try to grow that arent blow-your-face-off hot?

Also, are there any that aren't 5 feet tall? or is shorter stature only associated with the c annuum varieties?

Thanks so much for your thoughts!

Comments (16)

• tsheets
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Lemon Drop / Aji Lemon is a good choice. c.baccatum

Most of what I grow is c.annuum (big jims, poblano, guajillo, etc..) followed by c.chinese.

• Ohiofem 6a/5b Southwest Ohio
    11 years ago

Well, I'm a pepper wimp compared to many regular contributors to this forum. And I've only been growing peppers other than bells for four years. But my impression is that there is such a wide variety of annuums that anyone who's growing peppers for eating (as opposed to proving one's cajones or playing cruel jokes on one's inlaws) shouldn't rule out all annuums. I've grown about a dozen different kinds, and most were well under 5 feet tall. The only ones i've grown that got that tall were poblanos and a guajillos. Most were closer to 2-3 feet. This year I'm growing heirloom Mexican, New Mexican, Italian, Hungarian, and Thai chilis as well as an American hybrid. No bell pepprrs among them. Yum!

• habjolokia z 6b/7
    11 years ago