Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
centexan254

Help with Thai Hot Peppers

I have been holding off on this post due to the fact that this is my first year to start from seed with lights. A local Master Gardener gave me the start cells with dirt, and seeds sewn. All I had to do was pour in half a cup of luke warm water, and put them in a baggie in my closet. I put them under lights after they sprouted. Well that was 10 weeks ago.

I babied them. Each had its own lamp. (Cheapo flex lamp with 65 watt GE Grow Light. I kept the lamps less than 5 inches, but over 3 inches from the plants. After the second set of true leaves I started fertilizing with Bonnie Plants 8-4-4 at half strength. The mix in the cell held water enough that I only had to water them once a week. I used the fertilizer to water them.

Each had a half hour of a small fan on low a day from weeks 3 till 5. A full hour a day from 5 till 8 on medium. Week 9 they went outside in the shade during the day. They got tons of wind. I forgot to put them out one day, and am very grateful that I did as there was a bad hail storm that day. (It beat the crap out of my garden.) Week 10 I increased sun till they could go all day without the leaves drooping at all. Also they have been outside at night for the past week as well. Lows have been over 48 mostly in the the mid 50's.

Well now it is time to plant them outside. I have two that are bushy as all get out at a whopping 4 and half inches or so tall. One is going into a container. (12 inch tall x 14 inch wide. Using MG potting mix because I have a bag that was given to me for free) The other is going into the ground in my raised bed.

My question is how big do they average for height to width, and is the container I am using going to be big enough?

For reference I am in Central Texas in zone 8. It is warm here now. My hunch is it is going to be a long hot summer. I am thinking that it will be above 100 for highs by mid June at the latest.