Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
persimmonbob

Thai peppers

Monyet
11 years ago

I am new to this pepper forum.I never grew hot peppers before. I bought a variety of peppers from this source: pepper lover and have not been able for the seeds to do anything. I have spend all of the seeds now and nothing to show. I have done the different ways as i have read on this forum. I have heat,lights grow medium.
I am looking to obtain some Thai seeds from forum members rather than my preveuos source if possible,
Bob.

Comments (13)

• penguinsrock09
    11 years ago

I picked up a whole bunch of seeds from pepperlover this year and have had nothing but success getting them started. I was actually very impressed with the high germination rates.

Out of curiosity can you explain your set ups that you have used? It sounds more like it could be something in your set up than the seeds. It's extremely unlikely all the seeds you've received from a reputable seller would not germinate.

• habjolokia z 6b/7
    11 years ago

Persimmonbob, are you only interested in Thai peppers? Also agree with penguinsrock09 it may be something in the environment, heat, water, temp, and soil. I experienced zero germination rate with good seeds and my own collected seed from the 2012 season and the reason was the water from bottled water. Once I nixed using bottled water and used tap water I had great germination rates. This is just one example there are many factors at play so understanding what you tried will be helpful to know.

Mark

• esox07 (4b) Wisconsin
    11 years ago

persimmonbob: Don't give up. It just takes a little experimenting to get it right. It is probably just a simple issue and once you figure it out, all will be well. I suggest you start with some common easy growing varieties. Buy them at a local walmart or other store. They are innexpensive and you will have plenty to experiment with. Try some Bell Peppers, Cayennes, Jalapenos, etc... They are commonly carried in the seed racks.