Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alameda_gw

Soil To Use After Germination

I am not experienced with growing pepper seeds so would appreciate some advice. What kind of soil should I repot my peppers in after they have germinated and are ready to move up to a bigger pot? I read on another forum that Miracle Gro Orchid Soil was very good.
Also, how soon should I begin fertilizing, and with what?
Thanks for any advice!
Judith

Comments (7)

• scott123456
    10 years ago

I am a new pepper grower my self, but I can tell you what worked for me last year and is working for me right now. I transplant from my seed starter tray to a small sized solo cup with a good sterile seed starting mix in it( I add perlite). After the plant has out grown its home, I transfer to a regular sized solo cup and use a regular well draining potting soil (whatever I am going to use outside). Then I finally harden the plants off and transplant them to their final destination outside. As far as fertilizer, I fertilize with a very week fertilizer after the plant gets its first set of true leaves (second set of actual leaves) and gradually increase the strength over a long period of time. I used miracle grow liquid house plant last year because it was easy to make a week dilution with the drops and it worked out fine, but I am using something different this year. If I had to give you tips that worked for me, I would say always water from the bottom ( poke holes in the bottom of one cup and put it in another) , make sure your soil can drain well ( add perlite), do not over water or over fertilize, and have a good light source as close as you can to the plant until it is at least in the big size solo cup then it can go in a sunny window. Your mileage may vary, good luck!

• tomt226
    10 years ago