Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
icatchfish

Using Fish as fertilizer?

icatchfish
16 years ago

I wanted to ask if there would be any disadvantage to throwing some of my old Tuna, Yellowtail and other fish into a food processor and making a paste then mixing it in some soil and burying it a couple feet down in my garden area. All the fish has been vacuum sealed and deep frozen so it's not bad.

Any thoughts, hazards and or advice?

Thanks in advance.

Comments (22)

• melonpocky
    16 years ago

That sounds like the makings of a very smelly garden. While your fish is vacuum packed and sealed and stinkless now, it won't be for very long in the garden. I'm new to composting, but from what I understand meats tend to decompose very slowly and require a lot of heat in addition to time in order to decompose properly; I can't imagine what it would be like buried in the garden where there is no oxygen to stimulate the aerobic respiration needed and little organic matter to balance out the nitrogen in the fish bits. Additionally, you might run into the problem of your garden suddenly attracting an assortment of pests rooting through the soil to get at the fish goodies underneath.

I'm thinking that you would be better off establishing a compost pile and then throwing the fish in there. I'm a garden n00b, though, so I'd take this issue up with the guys in the compost section and see what they have to say on the matter.

• smokemaster_2007
    16 years ago

I wouldn't do it.
    A couple yards of fish smelling soil would drive the critters crazy digging around trying to find the motherlode.

You shouldn't keep more fish than you can eat.
    At least give it away before it's not eddible.
    There are lots of soup kitchens,church groups, food banks etc. you could have donated it to.
    Even if it's not the freshest they will be glad to take it.As long as it's not spoiled.(Some give you a reciet for it's value for tax purposes.)